Cyclist dies of head injuries following collision

The Iowa woman who suffered severe head injuries in a bicycle collision with a pickup truck died Monday in Iowa City. Susan Milsap DeSotel, 51, was a mother and a member of the Hawkeye Bicycle Association.

According to this article, the driver of the pickup truck might get a traffic ticket.

Additional charges that might apply because DeSotel died could result in a $1,000 fine a six-month license revocation.

Iowa law is terribly inadequate in situations like this.

In an email today to Cedar Rapids city council member Monica Vernon, whose daughter – and my own – attended grade school with DeSotel’s son, I told her:

“If I were the driver, I would fully expect to be charged with a crime and to spend time in jail or prison if my carelessness caused someone to die.
“As a very concerned citizen, I would like to see some official comment from the council and the police chief about the seriousness of this situation.”
No such comment that I have seen so far.
I don’t know why Robert Fleming turned into DeSotel’s path. I’m having trouble imagining how this could be seen as anything other than careless or reckless. We will see what, if anything, the eyewitness to the collision as to say.
Enhanced by Zemanta
peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


