No pill’s gonna cure my ill, but a shiny new bicycle might

Before talking to Derek Stepanek at Northtowne Cycling and Fitness yesterday, I did not know that if a physician writes you a prescription for a treadmill, you don’t have to pay Iowa sales tax on the thing.

He was making a case for a “cash for clunker bicycles” stimulus program, which we both agreed would be sweet. (I don’t have a clunker myself, but I could probably find one somewhere if I had to.)

I said doctors ought to be able to prescribe bicycles for people and have them covered by insurance, and he told me about the sales tax being waived on some stationary fitness equipment. That could easily apply to bicycles – highly mobile fitness devices.

Compared to the cost of some heart and blood-pressure medications, bypasses, strokes, treatment for diabetes and various other ills, a new bicycle every few years makes a lot of sense.

Doctor, doctor…

2 Responses to “No pill’s gonna cure my ill, but a shiny new bicycle might”


  1. 1 ToddTheWetSprocket March 5, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Great idea, I wish they had something like this when I plunked down $1600 for my Saris PT300 stationary bike.

  2. 2 Ken March 5, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    In Omaha, trails (including dirt / singletrack) development is heavily funded by hospitals and insurance companies through the lens of community health.


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

  • Don't let this stop you: FCC ignored your net neutrality comment, unless you made a ‘serious’ legal argument… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… ~ 15 hours ago
  • RT @_AlexHirsch: These are the 3 people left deciding the fate of the internet. We only have to convince ONE of them flip to a NO vote to s… ~ 15 hours ago
  • RT @RWPUSA: We need more facts but much of this fits an old GOP playbook Franken: The Obvious Setup and Liberals Took the Bait https://t.c… ~ 19 hours ago
  • "Semper fi," president* says to troops this a.m. Have to ask myself what are odds he knows what that means? The irony. ~ 19 hours ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


