The Pitbull’s thoughts on safe cycling classes

Heavy breathing!
Image by sirwiseowl via Flickr

A couple of weeks ago I asked this question on Twitter:

How do your spinning classes measure up with what Chris Carmichael describes here? http://bit.ly/8KVnHQ #cycling #fitness

Today, I heard from C.J. Ong, who referred me to his blog post on the subject. He said it was prompted by seeing many injuries – “especially among people training for triathlons and using Group Cycling classes as part of their prep.”

You can read C.J.’s comments right here.

Among other things, he offers several tips for having a safe cycling class.

Thanks, C.J.

Pedal on.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
6 Responses to “The Pitbull’s thoughts on safe cycling classes”


  1. 1 Ken January 29, 2010 at 7:20 am

    I would rather stick a red hot poker in my eye than attend an indoor group cycling class (spinning tm). However, I would ride here – http://www.raysmtb.com/ – as much as possible during inclement weather, in fact, we’re going to Ray’s on Feb. 18th for the ladies event. NIBU out of Mason City / Clear Lake are going Feb. 5th. FORC from the Quad Cities is going Feb. 26th.

    peace

  2. 2 bjsmith January 29, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Wow, I didn’t know there were places like Ray’s. Looks like a great time.

    I used to have that “stick in the eye” attitude about indoor classes but they’ve been very good for helping me get through the winter without porking up too much. No injuries, either. (I’ve broken several bones on my mountain bike outdoors but have yet to hit the floor with a spinning machine.)

  3. 3 The Pitbull January 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Thanks for posting BJ. The photo is marvelous in a pathetic sort of way as it captures many of the position errors that cause many of the injuries I have encountered with my bodywork and personal training clients.

  4. 4 crazy commuting cyclist January 29, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    in classes might be a great way to burn some calories off but I would never think it would ever replace an actual bike ride. Besides there is something about moving forward with the view and you just don’t get that with being in a room with a bunch of sweaty people . And let’s not forget the ultimate sport of ice dodging or the slip and fall of winter riding. Everyone should experience that! That is what motivates me to get out of bed at 4am on a winter’s morning, that and the fun you have with booger sickles.

  5. 5 Ken February 7, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    More indoor riding, local…

    Not local / NSFW…

  6. 6 fubarbicycleproducts December 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    I think the indoor is a great alternative! Great Blog!


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


