Don’t like my shorts? Who asked you, anyway?

” I would rather have every car on the road driven by someone who’s also texting before I’d want more rich, arrogant, ridiculously-clad cyclists in my way. And they will be in the way, because they’ll stretch the goodwill of the County Board like their spandex get-ups. “

Bike Route Sign
Image by Eric Gilliland via Flickr

That was the first of many, mostly negative comments on a story in the Muscatine Journal about marking bike routes on county roads.

I get hyperbole. Use it myself on occasion. You see, commenter “Dirk S.” doesn’t really want to see a lot of motorists texting while they drive. He probably can’t really pick a rich or arrogant cyclist out of a group, either.

The childish mockery of how people dress baffles me, though. It comes up often enough that I thought I might write about it here and point out some of the benefits cycling-specific clothing can provide. Maybe another time.

For now, as long as he sees me pedaling down the road and goes around carefully, I really don’t give a rat’s ass what he thinks of my shorts.

Ridiculous is in the eye of the beholder.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
7 Responses to “Don’t like my shorts? Who asked you, anyway?”


  1. 1 jbonewald December 30, 2009 at 10:23 am

    It’s probably just because he’s pretty sure he would look ridiculous in bike shorts….

  2. 2 Schupanitz December 30, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Spandex: Wear it loud. Wear it proud.

  3. 3 gunnarsoroos December 30, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I’ve never understood why this is such a sore point for people hating on cyclists. I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t matter what we wore, they’d still be upset that we’re on ‘their’ roads. Not like “rich, arrogant’ cyclists don’t pay taxes on those very roads too.

  4. 4 The Pitbull December 30, 2009 at 11:08 am

    At least it’s not a bunch of Speedo wearing triathletes…

  5. 5 Noyzsource December 31, 2009 at 10:30 am

    i hate spandex and did everything I could to avoid it. My wife bought me some lined spandex pants for Xmas for cold weather riding and I love them. I also make sure to wear shorts or something over the spandex for modesty. πŸ™‚ I was amazed at how much warmer I felt with the spandex.

  6. 6 bjsmith January 1, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to comment, folks. I don’t ride in street clothes enough to know, but I do wonder if you get treated better when you’re not in a ridiculous spandex get-up.

  7. 7 Jen R. (emeraldsunshine.org) January 15, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    It’s probably because of how gross I look in spandex… I did get the skirt, though, so it wouldn’t be nearly as disgusting. πŸ˜‰


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


