Hey, senior people, you can do more than walk

couple of cyclists
Image by docman via Flickr

“When you’re in your 60s, you may want to go out for a vigorous 30-minute walk, while when you’re in your 90s, you might try to lift your legs in a wheelchair.”

You can find those words of wisdom in a Chicago Tribune article. The source is Dr. Cheryl Phillips, president of the American Geriatrics Society.

Talk about setting the bar low.

When I reach my 60s and later years, I want to be on my bicycle. I’ve ridden with a lot of “seniors” and been dropped by more than a few.

A little walk is nice now and then, yes, but give me a road with some rolling hills and even a few hard climbs.

That will make a person feel like a kid again.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
1 Response to “Hey, senior people, you can do more than walk”


  1. 1 The Pitbull November 4, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Right or perhaps more appropriate is, RIDE on!


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


