Don’t text while driving: You’re really not that talented

Texting on a keyboard phone

Image via Wikipedia

We’ve all seen it, and too many of us have done it ourselves.

  • A woman tries to merge onto an interstate highway at 70 mph while talking on a cell phone and smoking a cigarette.
  • A man drives down a busy street, cell phone in one hand and running a shaver over his face with the other.
  • Another woman sends emails or text messages while looking up every three or four seconds to check her position on the road at 35 or 40 miles per hour.

An otherwise highly intelligent individual told me the other day that he used his Blackberry all the time while driving – and it was OK because he was really careful and good at it.

Sure you are.

Just don’t call me while you’re driving. Don’t text me. Don’t email me. I don’t want to be involved if you cause an accident. I don’t want to learn later that the last thing you saw was an email from me.

Don’t tweet. Your status should be “alert and focused on driving,” not “just killed somebody’s kid on a bicycle.”

I’m sure you want me paying attention when I’m behind the wheel.

I want you doing the same.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


