Cedar Falls: Bronze-level bicycling friend

Iowa’s lonely little blue dot on this map of Bicycle Friendly Communities is Cedar Falls.

The city earned that League of American Bicyclists’ recognition with a Bronze designation largely for its encouragement of cycling (as indicated by the blue star on that same page).

Congratulations to that friendly community, which is known far and wide for its network of recreational and cycling trails. Those trails are the envy of other communities. Cedar Falls did a great job of cashing in on funding opportunities that helped build the network. That the city took the initiative to apply for BFC recognition shows someone there understands the benefits such development can bring to a community.

Cedar Rapids and Davenport are two other Iowa cities that are preparing applications for Bicycle Friendly Community designation.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]


Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


%d bloggers like this: