Cyclist injured, no charges, but more facts please

Updated 2:07 p.m.: I finally found a link to a Channel 8 story after learning that the accident mentioned below was in Des Moines. I hope to get some more information from Ken Sherman, in response to an email I sent a little while ago, unless he’s already tired of talking about this.

There’s a disturbing story on the Iowa Bicycle Coalition website about a cyclist being hit by a car.

Unfortunately, there wasn’t much factual information the last time I looked. We get the who, the when (sort of) and a bit about what happened.

I’d like to know where. I’d like to talk to the people involved to get a fuller picture of what went on and why the driver pays no penalty for causing the cyclists’ injuries.

If you have additional information on the incident, please add a comment here.

Thanks.

And yes, we do need better law protecting cyclists. That should be obvious now.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Responses to “Cyclist injured, no charges, but more facts please”


  1. 1 Julie Engeman March 19, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    It would be so helpful if cyclists would join my husband and I in being proactive by educating the public on bicycle safety. We talk to driver’s ed classes about bicycle safety. We have been doing this for over 3 years now in our community. It only takes an hour of your time once every 2 months. It is required of the driver’s ed curriculum anyway. What better way to get the message out than from cyclists’ experiences. We can all ‘PUT A FACE ON THE CYCLIST’ by doing this.
    Contact B.J. and he can forward my information on how to get started. I
    will be happy to help anyone who wants to do this.

  2. 2 Jenni March 31, 2009 at 12:05 am

    I am the person who aided Ken; I live right across the street from where Ken was hit. I was in my house and heard the “thud” when he was hit. I am the reason his GPS was across the board as I ran home to get him a blanket and pillow since it was quite cold that day. I am a novice cyclist with a 9 year old son. I got into cycling after training for a sprint tri several years ago. The # 1 problem that I have been complaining about is that the speed limit on 44th Street is 25 mph, there are alot of kids on our street and many folks use this as a thoroughfare and beat feet on this street on a regular basis. As I told Ken when he was laid out on the grassy knoll that day; this is the EXACT reason why I keep my kid on the bike paths…because NO ONE watches out for us cyclists. On a regular basis I’ll take my son on 30 mile bike rides, but NOT on the roads, we’ve had too many incidents with cars honking horns, using cuss words and generally acting like idiots; in fact I had to call the law on one occasion when a motorist attempted to run us off the road and use obscene language; yes in front of my young son; nice example, eh? The day Ken was hit; I expressed my concern why the driver was not ticketed for failure to yield. No one had much to say. As soon as the DMPD showed up the driver started to tell the DMPD that the cyclist hit him.

    Too many folks think we should not be on the road. Novice or not we need to share the road and set a good example. Color me 80’s but as Elvis Costello sings, “What’s so funny ’bout peace love and understanding?”

  3. 3 B.J. Smith March 31, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Thanks for the additional details, Jenni. I’m afraid motorists won’t take cyclists very seriously until the police and courts start doing so. The Des Moines police screwed up, plain and simple.


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

  • RT @JoyAnnReid: The consequences of elections can be grave, America. Voting to “shake things up” or “send an outsider to Washington” or goi… ~ 3 hours ago
  • RT @didikins4life: “There was always a minority afraid of something, and a great majority afraid of the dark, afraid of the future, afraid… ~ 4 hours ago
  • RT @SethAbramson: (THREAD) There's now a rumor in Congress that Trump plans to fire Special Counsel Mueller on December 22. If this happens… ~ 6 hours ago
  • RT @MomsDemand: ICYMI: NRA hijacks first bipartisan gun bill in years. Now it's too dangerous to pass. every.tw/2BwCN3e via @usatoda… ~ 8 hours ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


