UPDATED: Wanna buy a used bike ride? You’re out of luck

This was posted on Twitter just minutes ago by @RAGBRAI_IOWA:

Still need to fill a holiday stocking? Visit https://shop.ragbrai.org for great gifts. And, no RAGBRAI isn’t for sale.

I added the boldface. (I’m all set on the stocking thing.)

Pedal on.

Earlier today…

Bike Ride 2008

Someone around here picked up on Des Moines’ Cityview Online speculation that RAGBRAI might soon become AGBRAI, sold or cut loose like employees including cartoonist Brian Duffy, who now lives on in syndication.

Naturally, I found it mentioned on my computer screen courtesy of Twitter, where cyclist Michelle Wiese quipped that the Cedar Rapids Gazette could buy the bike ride and call it GAGBRAI.

Naturally, I felt compelled to poke my nose in and ask @DMRegister and @RAGBRAI_IOWA to comment. (Those are Twitter IDs, the first of which I’m pretty sure is actually a Des Moines Register “voice.” The other one looks official, but sometimes it’s hard to tell in this part of the universe.)

No responses yet, but stay tuned….

Pedal on.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses to “UPDATED: Wanna buy a used bike ride? You’re out of luck”


  1. 1 Hidama December 19, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Good luck! RAGBRAI sounds much better than GAGBRAI 😉

  2. 2 B.J. Smith December 19, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Thanks for the comment, H. If I were to buy it, of course, I’d immediately sell the naming rights and retire.


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


