Bicycling through social media yields interesting, disturbing links

In my new part-time career as Social Media Explorer, I’ve been keeping an eye out for interesting stuff about bicycling. (Other subjects, too, but that’s one of my favorites.) Much of my exploring recently has been through using Twitter. You’ve probably seen me mention it here before.

I’ve learned that if you simply mention bicycling or bicycles or bikes or similar terms in a tweet – a short message you send on Twitter – people will find you and follow what you say. In turn, you can read their comments, and sometimes they send you links to cool and/or interesting or disturbing stuff.

A few examples:

  • from globalafc – Universities in southern California are implementing green programs to encourage carpooling and biking to campus http://tiny.cc/QIOhf
  • from roadrid3r Trek belt drive bicycle on CNN http://tinyurl.com/55gdkg
  • from MoBikeFed – Murderer of bicyclist Robert Osborn sentenced to 15 years http://tinyurl.com/5n3fsy
  • from marscafe All Reggie’s Night participants. Stop by Mars to warm up with a free medium coffee or latte.

OK, that last one wasn’t about cycling. I threw it in as an example of how some businesses use Twitter. marscafe is actually Mars Cafe, a place near Drake University in Des Moines. My guess is they reached out because I mentioned something about coffee in a tweet of my own.

I don’t get to DSM very often, but chances are good I’ll stop in there next time I’m in town. Their approach works! No wonder more businesses are doing the same. I’m hoping to put together a guide to the ones in the Cedar Rapids/Iowa City area (RileysCafe, Devotay, RockwellCollins and just a few others on my list so far), so if you know of some others, pass them along.

On Twitter, I’m bjsmith, just like here. Tweet me.

Pedal on.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 Responses to “Bicycling through social media yields interesting, disturbing links”


  1. 1 Anne November 20, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Red Curtain Photo Booth, @CRPhotobooth, is another local business that Twitters. We’re a small digital photo booth rental business based in Cedar Rapids.

    I’ve been enjoying your Iowa bicycling updates!

  2. 2 Elizabeth November 26, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    This is great. I recently wrote about bicycling too. Let me know if youd like to link exchange.

  3. 3 Randy January 10, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I recently put together a list of Twittering Cyclists of the Midwest (in the case of my list, centered around Kansas).

    It was fun putting the list together and seeing how many people are using this new tool, and the interesting things they have to say.

  4. 4 bjsmith January 10, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Thanks for the list, Randy. Great idea!


Comments are currently closed.



peopleforbikes

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Archives


